WHAT A MESS!

Standard

 

by Deborah Riley-Magnus

Well, I suppose you can all imagine why I didn’t post for the past few weeks. Yes … LIFE. It takes over, it drives you to strange emotional and high pressure places and it manages to help you forget all the good things you plan for yourself. These aren’t excuses but let me count down the lowdown. Over the past 14 days …

The misery in my heel continues, but not so bad that I can’t get around. Power walking is still out of the realm of possibilities.

My second book was released. It’s a non-fiction and geared toward an entirely different audience than my urban fantasy, so I’ve been focused on driving the marketing and promotional bus in this new direction.

We had some surprise snow here in Pennsylvania, which spurred a frantic need to take inventory of all the things we now need that we didn’t need in Los Angeles. That’s my house on October 28, 2011! SNOW! Yes, a culinary bowl scraper works to get ice off the windshield in a pinch, but real winter is coming soon and a few industrial strength items (snow brushes, ice scrapper, snow shovel and … dare I dream … a snow blower) would be helpful and less stressful too.

 
I got older … yes, I aged … had a birthday (number never to be revealed!) and what comes with a birthday? A birthday dinner and birthday cake, of course. Yes, I had both the dinner and the cake, but not so much I gained weight, thanks heavens!

 
I did a charity event for my mom’s church.  You know how those things go – run a hundred errands, carry bags and boxes and more bags and boxes and oh yes, there are a few more bags and boxes … then drag them all back home afterwards. (Hey, maybe that’s why I didn’t gain any weight?!?)

Today my life has settled back into some semblance of normal. I’m able to do my work here at the computer – it’s the thing that makes me feel the youngest, LOL – I have another fiction to finish, due at the publisher by the end of December. I have house guests from the west coast for Thanksgiving. I have ongoing promotion and marketing to do for the books already out and oh, this house sooo needs a good cleaning. Even with all this, I feel less stressed than I have for the past two weeks, so I’m thinking maybe today I try to start doing some serious walking again.

I’ll do a few blocks and if the pain isn’t bad, maybe a few more. I’ve walked all over Gettysburg, shopped all over town and stood on my feet for hours at a church charity … granted I was miserable those evenings but not in serious pain at all.

Yup, today’s the day I start walking again! YAY!

And while I’m at it, I’ll start being careful with my food lists and water intake. Maybe I can get this weight loss ball rolling again.

On the bright side, whatever foundation we set in the beginning of all this has made drastic improvements, after all, there was a time when two weeks of not paying attention to a diet meant a complete regain of whatever I’d lost. Lifestyle Change is a GOOD THING!

See you all next week!

About Deborah Riley-Magnus

Deborah Riley-Magnus is an author and an Author Success Coach. She has a twenty-seven year professional background in marketing, advertising, and public relations as a writer for print, television, and radio. She writes fiction and non-fiction. Since 2010, she had two novels released. In 2013 her nonfiction, Finding Author Success (Second Edition), and Cross Marketing Magic for Authors were released. Her newest book, Write Brain/Left Brain, focuses on bridging the gap between the creative writer and the marketing author. Deborah produces several pieces monthly for various websites and online publications. She writes an author industry blog and teaches online and live workshops as The Author Success Coach. She belongs to several writing and professional organizations. Deborah has lived on both the east and west coast of the United States and has traveled the country widely. She is a native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and recently returned after living in Los Angeles, California for several years.

2 responses »

  1. How much weight have you lost? or am I being nosy. lol I’ve tried to lose some, not easy to keep it off. We are planning a trip to California in January and February..will miss seeing you and Natalie. Where is your book sold, is it in all book stores? Enjoy reading your blogs. We went to Pennsylvania in 1997, we went to see the town of Pittsburg but we were working at a college In Phoenixville, Pa, worked there for 5 weeks.. It is a beautiful state..Aunt Marie (I know that is what you know me as)

    • Hi Marie!

      So good to hear from you! Well, I’ve lost 14 pounds and managed to keep it off since my injury six weeks ago. This pain in my heels is sometimes so miserable all I want to do is sit at the computer! Good for my writing, but not so good for weight loss, LOL. As of today, the heels are doing much better and Natalie and I are planning a membership at a health club after the Holidays to hopefully get things kick started again. Winter is coming to Pittsburgh and walking outside will not be such a regular or easy thing to do in snow drifts! We have a few options. We’re looking at Curves, mainly because it seems like a simple way to make sure we MOVE three or four times every week … or there’s a small independent gym nearby, started by a few trainers and run very nicely, with classes and lots of personal attention. Which choice we make will depend on Natalie’s job and the time it takes to get there to do our workout on weekday evenings. I’ll also, as usual, be doing all the cooking, so those workout days will require quick, easy meals. I love the Holidays, but actually can’t wait to get moving again!

      It was a gorgeous autumn here and I’m looking forward to a beautiful winter. Truth be told, the only thing that I’m not sure about is the cold. I think I forgot what day after day of below 30 degrees actually feels like after five years in L.A., LOL.

      My fiction (an urban fantasy) is only available in e-book format – Kindle, Nook, Kobo. But my non-fiction, which teaches authors how to market their books for great sales success, is available in both print and e-book format online at Amazon and other places. I’m in the process of writing the next fiction, due at the publisher’s by the end of January, contracted to write a young adult book and thinking about writing least one romance for Harlequin this coming year. Should be fun!

      Deb

Leave a Reply

